West Flanders

Region: Flanders
Capital: Bruges
Language: Dutch

The province of West-Flanders (west-vlaanderen in dutch) is located in the western part of Belgium and spans from the French border towards the Dutch border, covering the entire Belgian Coastline.

Bruges is the province capital and one of Belgium’s major travel destinations.

The approx 67 km long Belgian Coast is the perfect destination for short getaways or long holidays.

The area around Ypress and Diksmuide is known as Flanders Fields. A region where the first world war will never be forgotten.

Themeparks in West-Flanders

Plopsaland De Panne

Located in De Panne, Belgium, Plopsaland De Panne is the most visited theme park in Belgium and just 40 minutes from Calais. The park offers a magical world of Studio 100, with over 50 attractions including thrilling roller coasters, gentle carousels, and interactive attractions for kids and adults. The park’s main attractions include the Anubis ride, a dark coaster through ancient Egypt and the Heidi, a family-friendly ride through the Swiss Alps.

Plopsaqua De Panne, the adjacent theme water park, offers four pools, six slides, and numerous water attractions with special lighting and sound effects that are sure to impress visitors.

  • Location: De Panne
  • Type of park: Themepark + Aquapark


Bellewaerde is a theme park located in Ypres, Belgium, that offers a range of attractions and experiences for visitors of all ages. From thrilling rides and attractions to educational exhibitions and animal encounters, Bellewaerde provides visitors with a fun and exciting day out. Whether you’re a family with children, a couple, or a solo traveler, Bellewaerde is a must-visit destination for those looking for a fun-filled day out.

  • Location: Ypres
  • Type of park: Zoo + Theme park